Three stories from Playground on Sunburst Longlist!

It’s both fabulous and unusual that three stories from Playground of Lost Toys have made the Sunburst Longlist. We’re very excited.

Karen Abrahamson, “With One Shoe” [Playground of Lost Toys, Exile Editions]
Catherine A. MacLeod, “Hide and Seek” [Playground of Lost Toys, Exile Editions]
Dominik Parisien, “Goodbye is a Mouthful of Water” [Playground of Lost Toys, Exile Editions]

From the Sunburst page:

The Sunburst Award official shortlist will be announced on July 5th. Sunburst Award winners will be announced on September 14th.
The jurors for the 2016 award are Timothy Anderson, Sylvie Bérard, Virginia O’Dine, Dale Sproule, and Myna Wallin.

The Sunburst Award for Excellence in Canadian Literature of the Fantastic is an annual award celebrating the best in Canadian fantastika published during the previous calendar year. Winners of the Sunburst Award receive a cash prize of $1,000 as well as a medallion which incorporates the Sunburst logo.
The Sunburst Award takes its name from the debut novel of the late Phyllis Gotlieb, one of the first published authors of contemporary Canadian speculative fiction. Past winners of the Sunburst Award include such notable Canadian authors as Ruth Ozeki, Guy Gavriel Kay, Cory Doctorow, Nalo Hopkinson, Charles de Lint, and last year’s winner Thomas King.

For additional information about the Sunburst Award, the nominees, and the jurors, as well as previous awards, eligibility, and the selection process, please visit the official website here.

The anthology is also up for an Aurora Award. If you plan to vote this year, please remember us.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *